Instant Access to State, County and Municipal Records is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”). You understand and acknowledge that these reports are NOT “consumer reports” as defined by the FCRA. Your access and use of a report is subject to our Terms of Service and you expressly acknowledge that you are prohibited from using this service and this report to determine an individual’s eligibility for credit, insurance, employment or any other purpose regulated by the FCRA.

How do Arizona Courts work?

The Supreme Court is the highest legal authority in Arizona, and resides over the decisions made by the Court of Appeals. This allows the Supreme Court to weight in on debates, conflicts, and precedents. In turn, the Court of Appeals exists to look over the decisions made by inferior courts after a party contests. These lower courts would be one of the 15 Superior or Trial Courts across the 15 Arizona counties. There were 1,258,302 cases filed in Arizona district courts in 2017.

Civil Cases and Small Claims

There are number of differences between cases dealt with by civil court and those dealt with by small claims court. Civil court deals with petitions over the amount of $250,000, of which there are around 200,000 cases filed annually. However, the civil court can also handle non-monetary disputes, such as name changes, restraining orders, and property disputes. On the other hand, the small claims courts deal with cases in which a petitioner is looking for $3,500 or less, of which there are around 50,000 cases per year. These can include disputes over loans, repairs, warranties, deposits, and more. The small claims court can also order the defendant to pay a fee.

Appeals and court limits

There are also key differences in how the appeals process and court limits work for both civil cases and small claims. In civil cases, pretrial discovery is allowed, where as it is not in small claims court. Civil court also allows either party to appeal, instead of just the defendant in small claims cases. People are allowed a lawyer to represent them and file papers on their behalf in civil court, but not in small claims. In small claims court, it costs between $30 and $100 to file a case, and people are then given 30-70 days to complete it. In civil court, it costs between $180 and $320, and people are given up to 120 days.

Why are court records public?

The Arizona Public Records Law was passed in 1901, with the latest amendment coming in 1993. This act allows any member of the public in Arizona to access public records at any state level. The act states that it is the fundamental right of every Arizona resident to do so, which promotes openness and safeguards government accountability.

To request records:

Main Address:
Arizona Supreme Court
1501 W. Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Main Contact Number: (602) 452-3300

TDD (for the Hearing Impaired): (602) 452-3545


Arizona Court Structure
Arizona State Archives

State Archives

Contact: (520) 462-5076

Search Includes

  • Arrests & Warrants
  • Criminal Records
  • Driving Violations
  • Police Records
  • Sheriff Records
  • Inmate Records
  • Felonies & Misdemeanors
  • Probation Records
  • Parole Records
  • Bankruptcies
  • Tax & Property Liens
  • Civil Judgements
  • Marriages & Divorces
  • Birth Records
  • Death Records
  • Property Records
  • Personal Assets
  • Business Ownership
  • Professional Licenses
  • Political Contributions
  • Unclaimed State Funds
  • Relatives & Associates
  • Address Registrations
  • Affiliated Phone Numbers
  • Affiliated Email Addresses

Results are based upon available information from state, county and municipal databases, and may not include some or all of the above details.


Arizona’s Pinal County Courthouse was first built in 1891.

  • There are 6 types of courts in Arizona; Municipal, Justice of the Peace, Tax, Superior, the Court of Appeals, and the Supreme Court.
  • The highest court - the Supreme Court - has 7 judges that each serve 6 year terms.
  • The first chief justice in Arizona was Alfred Franklin, who began his term in 1912.
  • The second highest court - the Court of Appeals - is divided into two divisions. Division One in Phoenix has 22 judges, while Division Two in Tucson has six. 
  • The Arizona Superior Court is a single entity with a location in each of the states 15 counties.